The Debt
  • Trump speaks upon departure from the White House in Washington

    Trump Says He'll Start Paying Down the Debt. Here’s Why That’s Not Likely

    By Michael Rainey

    In a somewhat surprising statement on fiscal policy, President Trump said Wednesday that the U.S. will start reducing its more than $21 trillion national debt. "We're going to start paying down debt...

  • Who Owns US Debt?

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    At Bloomberg , bond strategist David Ader suggests that, while there are plenty of threats that could drive interest rates higher, the idea that foreigners are pulling back from U.S. debt isn’t one...

  • U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin in Washington, U.S., May 23, 2017. REUTERS/Jim Bourg

    US Treasury to Borrow More Than $1.3 Trillion in 2018

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Treasury said Monday it expects to issue about $425 billion in debt this quarter, raising its 2018 borrowing to more than $1.3 trillion, a 145 percent increase from the $546 billion issued...

  • US Debt Issuance Headed for a Record High

    By Michael Rainey

    Bond traders expect the U.S. Treasury to announce record-setting debt sales at the end of the month, Bloomberg’s Liz McCormick says : “Many strategists at primary-dealer firms predict that the...

  • Most Americans Haven't Heard Much About the Rising Deficit

    The Treasury Department’s announcement last week that the federal budget deficit grew 17 percent to $779 billion in fiscal 2018, the highest level in six years, was pretty big news around these parts...

The Debt Directory

Source
Tags
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 5:53pm
Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 5:43pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 4:40pm
Monday, October 29, 2018 - 4:54pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 5:50pm
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 5:15pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 5:45pm
Monday, October 15, 2018 - 5:42pm
Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 5:29pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 5:44pm
Friday, October 5, 2018 - 4:40pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - 5:55pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 6:15pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 12:15am
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 5:45pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 5:35pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 4:45pm
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 4:45pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 11:37am
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 5:23pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 4:41pm
Friday, August 3, 2018 - 4:22pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 5:37pm
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 5:14pm
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 5:40pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 3:00pm

Pages